Is it ok for a Christian to go to a movie such as Magic Mike?

Is it ok for a Christian to go to a movie such as Magic Mike?

July 10, 2012

I like many other women this summer have been oogling the Magic Mike posters and counting down the days that I could go with some girlfriends.

Then, two days before I was scheduled to go with a group of girls, I stumbled on a really interesting Blog post by Sheila Wray Gregoire titled “Magic Mike, Marriage, and Women’s Libido.”

You can read her take on the movie here…

http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/2012/07/magic-mike-marriage-and-womens-libido/

The movie, in case you have been living under a rock, is based on Channing Tatum’s real life as a stripper and him training a new stripper aka the Kid.

The movie boils down to feeding off the lustful desires of women and how they react when the male body is on display for all to see.

When you turn to the Bible it has a lot to say about lust and what those feelings mean in your Christian walk.

AM I COMMITTING ADULTERY?

Matthew 5:28

New International Version (NIV)

28 But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart. 

Adultery is something that you do not want to throw around lightly. I read this verse in reverse as well: ‘anyone who looks at a man lustfully’ because let’s face it Magic Mike was designed for the ladies and the libido.

At this point, I turned to my husband. How did he feel about me going to such a movie like this? Would it offend him or make him feel like I was committing adultery against him? We had a very frank and honest conversation about attending the movie. He did not think it would harm our relationship or harm us.

Time to Pray…

FRIENDSHIPS

I sent the link to one of my girlfriends who I was set to see the movie with and she sent back a very insightful response…

“I think that God and marriage is within each person individually and generally starts with how you were raised and the values that your parents taught you. I look at books and movies as purely entertainment value. It’s not real life. When it comes down to it, I love my husband, my child and my life, and I take the time to thank God for that every day.”

Although, I agree with some of her points and I am glad that I have Christian friends who I can freely and openly discuss ideas with, it still makes me think.

Living a Christian life is not just about how you personally do things in your own little bubble but letting the light of Christ shine out for all to see.

You need to be a role model for other Christians and especially non-believers and it boils down to this question…

Would I want to take a new Christian to this movie?

Yes the movie is produced for entertainment but we know that humans are easily visually stimulated by our eyes! We are naturally sinners and all fall short of the glory of God and it is with our eyes that we sin the most.

LUST

1 John 2:16

New International Version (NIV)

16 For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world.

 

I do not agree that everything that is produced for the big screen or written is just for entertainment purposes. They embedded things in our hearts and minds that are overtly impure. One of the reasons I refuse to read the 50 Shades of Grey books is I do not want to expose myself to the impure thoughts or feelings that could be brought up in reading something like that.

I have even turned away from Cosmo Magazine and instead look to other ways for sexual advice such as “Sheet Music Uncovering the Secrets of Sexual Intimacy in marriage” By Dr. Kevin Leman or “Making Love The Chapman Guide to Making Sex An Act of Love” By Dr. Gary Chapman. Or I look to my girlfriends to discuss how to make it more than just sex but love.

I admit I have watched every Sex and the City TV Show and movie but I look to it as more of a story of friends but I don’t think I can justify Magic Mike as a bunch of friends sitting around sipping martinis.

TIME TO FLEE…

1 Corinthians 6:18

New International Version (NIV)

18 Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a person commits are outside the body, but whoever sins sexually, sins against their own body.

I have openly turned off movies when watching them with other male Christians in the room to avoid any uneasy feelings about what their feelings might be with the sexual images on screen. It does depend I believe on where you are with your walk with Christ. 

It takes a lot of self control and confidence to flee from a sexually immoral situation but you must do what is right for yourself and no one else.

It is difficult to balance sometimes the morals of my non-Christian friends and Christian friends. Once I was talked into (peer pressure) going to a live male strippers show. I did not know what I was getting into. 

2 Timothy 2:22

New International Version (NIV)

22 Flee the evil desires of youth and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart. 

It was time to flee as far as I could. Well in that situation it was to the parking lot and thank goodness for cell phones I was able to call my boyfriend (now husband) who knew right where I was and we talked for about an hour before the show was finally over and it was time to go home.

WHERE SHOULD SEX BE?

I am quite proud that my husband and I can say that we are each other’s only sexual partner and know that being sexual and making love was designed for a man and women in marriage.

Sex is good and anyone who looks at Song of Solomon in the Bible knows just how good it can be.

Song of Songs 1

New International Version (NIV)

Solomon’s Song of Songs.

She[a]

Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth—
    for your love is more delightful than wine. 
Pleasing is the fragrance of your perfumes;
    your name is like perfume poured out.
    No wonder the young women love you!
Take me away with you—let us hurry!
    Let the king bring me into his chambers.

But the question of this movie begs to differ should sex be celebrated in a dark movie theatre?

Sex is everywhere in today’s society and it can hurt many of a relationship, Christian or not.

In her conclusion Sheila Wray Gregoire says this “there is nothing wrong with being aroused by the male form. But fundamentally God created women to yearn to be aroused by being chased and cherished.”

This seems like something from the 19th Century and not the 21st Century, I disagree that women need to be aroused by being chased. It is a two way street and a mutual understanding that makes a loving marriage work not my husband chasing me. But yes, I better be cherished each and every day of my life with him.

In discussing this movie and post another girlfriend said “Foreplay starts in the kitchen when the husband takes out the garbage…” My husband must cherish the work I have done around the house and value our relationship daily.

I am not going to say don’t go to a movie based on my thoughts of lust and sex but what everyone should do before considering a movie like this is the following…

  1. What would God say/think?
  2. What does the Bible say about what I am feeling?
  3. Is it setting a good example for young Christians who may look up to me?
  4. Will it hurt my relationship with my spouse?

In the end I did see Magic Mike with about 10 other girls, some married, some not. I looked away at some parts as I did not want to see such things. I laughed at others thinking this was just silly and I enjoyed the story, what there was of a plot.

Overall, it was a challenge as a Christian to stand up to my beliefs and even consider how my life is affected by these types of movies and forms of entertainment.

The best part of the movie was the fact that I was there with friends, spending some time out with the girls out and knowing my husband was waiting for me at home.

Leave a Reply

