Crockpot Chicken Tacos

It is as easy as could be try some Crockpot Chicken tacos

Crockpot Chicken Tacos

July 20, 2012

I have what I would call a love hate relationship with food.

I love to eat but I hate to cook.

Pinterest is a marvelous place to find new recipes and when you are adventurous enough try something new.

You see the second thing about the hate part of my relationship with food is I absolutely without a doubt hate trying anything new. I also do not like to mix my food together but that is a whole other discussion.

So here I was pinning away last week, when my best friend who was coming to visit saw something on my food board and casual asked if we could try it.

Here is another luxury with Pinterest, you can pin stuff and dream that you will one day make it but you don’t really ever have to make anything on your boards. Now I was cornered, I was actually going to have to make something from my food board for someone else.

Thankfully, I actually like Chicken Fajitas; especially with a recipe as easy as this…

“Crockpot Chicken Tacos

Dump 1 envelope of taco seasoning, 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts & a jar of salsa in the crockpot, stir and cook on high(4-6 hrs.) or low(6-8 hrs.) Should be able to shred with a fork. Place meat mixture in tortillas and top with your favorite toppings!”

You can find the original blog post here: http://mychocolatetherapy.blogspot.ca/2012/01/crockpot-chicken-tacos.html

Challenge accepted.
The night before I went out and bought a few of the ingredients. I already had the chicken so that was taken care of.

I started with two frozen chicken breasts, sprinkled the taco mix, spread some salsa and repeated for the five chicken breasts.

Let me tell you I was skeptical as it did not seem like there would be enough liquid to sustain all of the chicken.

I cooked it on high for five hours on high, watching it as it got juicer and steaming in the crockpot.

I had to send my dear husband out for sour cream as let’s face it I don’t use it on my tacos.

The moment of truth came, would I be able to shred it easily with a fork?

Yes! Success!

I actually used tongs with a rubber end and mashed it around, but it worked perfectly.

Here is what the chicken looked like in the bottom of my crockpot!

It looks messy because it is, so yummy!

So soft, tender and juicy this is my new favourite meal!

I love it.

I used five chicken breasts for three people and we had a lot of leftovers. I topped it off with cheese and lettuce in a soft taco shell but you could just add your favourite toppings and enjoy! It is a full meal on its own as well no need for a side dish!

Note to self: try and wash crockpot ASAP next time as this was hard to scrub off.

This is the perfect meal when you are having friends over or you just want to have something messy!

Dessert!

Lot’s of fruit, looks good and tastes even better.

I also recently put this lovely fruit rainbow together and it looks just like the pictures on Pinterest! Not bad if I do say so myself.

It did take a long time to cut up but it was a big hit.

So my next supper recipe might just be somewhere over the rainbow!

Watch out!

Leave a Reply

