Blogging and inspiration

20120821-170806.jpg

My tulips are featured on a guest blog and are an inspiration to me

I have now been in the blogging world for a little over a month.

Since then my blog, this little writing space, has had approximately 500 hits give or take.

I started to blog because I love to write and now I am trying to immerse myself in the blogging world.

So when I saw on Twitter that @SeeMummyJuggle (Candace Derickx a Travel & Lifestyle Blogger over at Life In Pleasantville) I jumped on the opportunity. Thank you for giving me a chance!

My guest blog is now up on her site and I am excited about the feedback that I am getting.

You can check it out here:

http://www.lifeinpleasantville.com/trying-something-new/

Then last night as I was sitting at the cottage relaxing I happened to stumble on to a Twitter chat on blogging hosted by BlissDomCanada (A really interesting social media conference I hope to attend in the fall). It was interesting because I had never really been involved with a Twitter chat before and the outcome was surprisingly a lot of fun.

One of the questions that really got me thinking was:
WHERE DO YOU GO FOR BLOGGING INSPIRATION?

One of the responses from BlissDomCanada was:
Inspiration can come from any source we just have to open our eyes and see.

20120821-171141.jpg
Is Gabby Douglas an Inspiration or is the view behind the magazine more inspirational?

It’s funny because my DH and I were having a conversation about inspiration as I read through People magazine (Yes one of my guilty cottage loves) yesterday afternoon.

This weeks cover girl is Olympic gold medalist Gabby Douglas and one of the magazines teasers was to check out her inspirational story.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I want to take nothing away from her accomplishments but I do not think her story was inspirational to me personally. Maybe to young gymnasts she has done the unthinkable and will always be an inspiration.

When I was a little girl after the Winter Olympics in 1988 Liz Manley was my inspiration. She was so much fun, her smile, her skate, her positive attitude. I took up skating lessons and wanted to be just like her. I stuck with it for a few years but never went on to win anything other than my skating badges. So I do see how Olympic athletes can be inspiring.

20120821-171256.jpg

Liz Manley and I, last fall at a gala.

However, I have recently learned more on Liz’s story and she is even more of an inspiration to so many people. In the fall I heard her speak on her battle with depression and the fact she had lost her hair and threw her skates in the canal just a few years before her crowning moment.

For me hearing her speak first hand on battling depression and wanting to make a difference in the lives of young people today, is more of an inspiration than anything else I have ever seen.

I was also inspired to write a little about inspirations after reading Chris’s blog on Liz over at Canadian Dad Blog: I encourage you to read the short interview here:

http://canadiandad.com/canadian-spotlight-elizabeth-manley/

She speaks so passionately for what she believes in and is also so kind. I know first hand that her heart is in the right place, when she first spoke of doing a show in Ottawa, I never knew if it would come to fruition.

I believed in her and her inspirational attitude has continued as the plans for her big show are being finalized soon! Thank you for sticking to your word because in today’s society that is sometimes the most valuable thing in the world.

I know her benefit Jan. 26, 2013: Elizabeth Manley and Friends will be more than amazing and that it will be without a doubt an inspiration.

For a really well written article from the Intelligencer on Liz and the upcoming show visit:
http://www.intelligencer.ca/2012/07/22/elizabeth-manleys-journey-through-darkness

Going back to the Olympics are all of these athletes an inspiration for what they have accomplished? Should we celebrate both wins and defeats? What can we take away from these athletes and people who we think are an inspiration?

I must admit I have lacked inspiration as of late.

My ultimate inspiration has been and will always be Jesus Christ and what he did for me. But how do I live for him here on earth and let his light shine through me?

But to go back to the question from last night, what does inspire me to blog or inspire my life?
-God
-Family
-Friends
-Nature
-Love of writing
-Adventure
-Those who inspire me.

So the question is what inspires you?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dirk
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 08:30:59

    Great information. Lucky me I discovered your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

