A surprise!

A baby blanket for our baby boy!

A baby blanket for our baby boy!

 

It’s always a humbling experience when people want to shower you with gifts.

But I was surprised when a friend asked for my address as she wanted to send me something, I let her know that nothing was needed but her support but she had something for me.

A week or so later a small brown package arrived in the mail. I knew immediately that it was from her and I was excited to see what it was.

My DH and I opened it together and it was a handmade knitted blue blanket. The first thing my DH said was now we will have something to keep him warm with when we bring him home from the hospital. It melted my heart to hear that from him.

In today’s society a handmade gift is extra special. To know that someone cares about you that much to take time and make something for our growing family makes me smile.

I am extremely thankful for this special gift, one of the first that we have received.

The whole process of gifts is difficult. Making a registry is confusing at best, what do I really need? A blanket to come home from the hospital is one thing for sure! But there seems so much!

I was also surprised last week when my parents came to visit and they had purchased the stroller and car seat combo that we had put on our registry. Again we were thankful that our parents had been on the registry and had already purchased something that we will need. It was so exciting to have my DH put it together!

Then my dad brought us our gift from my Grandpa … a video monitor. My dad and Grandpa went to Babies R Us to buy it together. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall as they made that purchase.

I am thankful for all of the love and support that we have received so far. I know our many friends and family will be there to help us through this new chapter of our lives!

 

 

Leave a Reply

