Reflecting on the Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby

20130524-134742.jpg

Being pregnant has been a tough experience for me.

One thing that I am sure would have made it a lot easier if I would of fully relied on God during this journey. Something that I admit I was lacking as I tried to ensure I was doing everything possible to ensure the baby was healthy.

Recently, we were walking through Salem Storehouse, looking for a new CD, not a new book when it hit me. I wonder if there are any books about being pregnant and God’s plan during this time.

I could not believe that one of the employees was just putting on the shelf a new arrival by Erin MacPherson ‘The Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby, Everything you need to know to survive (and Love) your pregnancy’
It was like the book was being put out just for me.

I sat down with it and started to flip through the pages, the first subhead that I saw was ‘God Knows More than Google’
Maybe it was time to stop Googling my concerns and questions and start to give them up to God.

Some of the topics of the book didn’t apply to me as I was well into my third trimester but I have read a lot of the book and it was very refreshing and up lifting.

The author is funny, writes in an easy to read way and each chapter is broken down into a number of different sections.

Most importantly she gives your insight, prayers and key verses to remember while pregnant.

The following are a number of key points I hope to remember …

1. Draw close to God

2. God is with you even when you are feeling your worst

3. Pray for your baby

4. Remain in God and he will remain in us (John 15:5) Wrap yourself in God’s love

5. Keep your focus on Christ

6. Psalm 28:7: The Lord is my strength and my shield, my heart trusts in, relies on and confidently leans on Him and I am helped, therefore my heart greatly rejoices with my song and I will praise him

7. Lord God, I am weak right now, tired, exhausted, sick, scared. I am feeling all sorts of feelings that I never expected to feel about pregnancy. But you are my strength. Even when I am weak and I don’t feel like I can take another step forward, you are there, providing support for me to lean on during my weakest moments. Thank you Jesus. Help me to praise you in gratitude as I grow into the mother that you created me to be. Amen.

8. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in faith because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings. And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ after you have suffered a little while, while himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast (1Peter 5:7-10)

9. Father God, I am in awe that you have chosen to bless me with this precious and perfect gift. I am profoundly grateful. But I feel horrible right now and its hard for me to cope with feeling nauseated all the time. But I hand my morning sickness to you and regardless of whether you heal me or if I suffer for a while longer, I know that through your grace you will carry me through. Lord, give me the strength to handle whatever is thrown at me with grace, courage, and faith because I know that the blessings you give me far outweigh any trials I can face on this earth. Amen

10. Trust God

11. Know that The Lord, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his, we are his people and the sheep of his pasture (Psalm 100:3)

12. My Creator, I know that I belong to you. I am yours and I take great comfort in calling you my father and shepherd. Guide me to make good choices throughout this pregnancy, whether I’m choosing a meal to eat or a doctor to visit. Help me to understand your will for my life and for this pregnancy, so that your peace and protection can rain down on both me and my baby. Amen.

13. God knows exactly what is right for me, he loves my baby more than I do and I can place the baby’s health and future in His hands.

14. For when you’re worried about your unborn baby…
For you created my inmost being, you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:13)

15. Heavenly Father, I love having my baby tucked away inside me but it can be nerve-wracking! I worry so much about him! Lord comfort me and give me confidence in your plan for this precious life. I know you have created this precious soul with a plan and a purpose. Help me to trust you with both my life and the baby’s life so that we can fully know the peace that comes with knowing you are in control. Amen.

16. Psalm 145:8
8 The Lord is gracious and compassionate,
slow to anger and rich in love.

17. 2 Corinthians 9:8-10
8 And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work. 9 As it is written:

“They have freely scattered their gifts to the poor;
their righteousness endures forever.”[a]
10 Now he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness.

18. Isaiah 43:1-2
43 But now, this is what the Lord says—
he who created you, Jacob,
he who formed you, Israel:
“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
2 When you pass through the waters,
I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
you will not be burned;
the flames will not set you ablaze.

19. God knows my child by name. He created him win my womb with a plan and a purpose and knows him intimately. God is with him now and will be for the rest of his existence as his Father, comforter, his friend.

20. Lord guide us as we choose a name for him one that reflects everything that you have in store for his life!

21. When you need rest God will give it to you. Matthew 11:28-30

22. God knows more than Google about my labour, delivery and baby

23. God please make it clear what is the best labour plan for my baby and I

24. Trust in The Lord with all your heart
Proverbs 3:5-6

25. Lord is my light and salvation, whom shall I fear
Psalm 27:1

26. God is in charge

27. When you want to give up in labour ask God to give you GRACE & STRENGTH

28. Look to how strong Jesus was when he had to persevere, he turned to God and God gave him grace and strength and he will do the same for me

29. Turn to God!

30. Our baby is made in God’s image

31. He is the child that God has chosen to trust to our stewardship

32. 1 Samuel 1:27-28
27 I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him. 28 So now I give him to the Lord. For his whole life he will be given over to the Lord.” And he worshiped the Lord there.

33. Matthew 19:14
14 Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

34. God has counted the hairs on our baby’s head and has planned the day’s of his life

35. God’s kingdom belongs to our baby…what an amazing hope!

36. I pray that as we raise him that every word we say and all we do directs him towards God

37. God created pregnancy and baby so it makes sense that HIS word is the ultimate pregnancy guide

38. 2 Peter 1:3
His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.

39. God calms all storms, preserve through all trials

40. God sustains all things, even pregnancy through his powerful word

41. Make time to focus on God’s word

42. PRAY

43. Jesus said ‘In this world you will have trouble but take heart, I have overcome the word’ and there’s not a stretch mark in the world that Jesus has not overcome

Leave a Reply

