Three months of breastfeeding

 

It seems like it has been forever since I started breastfeeding. Each time it is a constant battle. Sometimes John latches on perfectly other times he does not.

The doctor that delivered John said with all of the issues that I was having to stick with it for at least three months. Well this week marks three months and I just don’t know what to do.

‘They’ say breast is best but he has lost his latch and his mostly getting formula from the supplementary nursing system (SNS)and eats well with that too.

He rarely will take the bottle when I try to give it to him; I just wish he would take it once a day as I think that would make things somewhat easier to keep breastfeeding. Who knows at this point?

I plan on going back to the lactation consultant this week to see what she says about his latch and the SNS maybe her coaching and advice will help and I will be able to continue on breastfeeding with the SNS.

I only want what is best for my baby but sometimes it is hard to balance the battle and the enjoyable bonding moments when I try and nurse him.

But when he smiles, whatever I do, it makes it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

