My newest creation

My Five Span Bridge

My Five Span Bridge

Painting is one of my hidden talents. I say hidden because even though I have blogged about my art lessons before and people know I love art not a lot of my friends know I paint.

I recently gave a painting to a friend who I have known since kindergarten and the next day his brother texted me and asked ‘how long have you been painting for?’ Well off and on since 2000! Although I am not great, I do like to try every now and again. Especially when local artists offer paint nights with everything included.

On Tuesday night I was lucky enough to get out of the house for a few hours to take a class with artist Janet Beath from Carleton Place who was teaching a class on how to paint the Five Span Bridge in Pakenham, one of my favourite places in the Ottawa Valley.

Janet and I, with her original

Janet and I, with her original

The task was very daunting but Janet made everyone laugh and smile as she easily walked us through each step. By far the bridge was the hardest part. As you can see in the close up there is a lot of detail to the bridge. She taught us how to feather, shade and work intimately with our canvass. When I had questions she honestly answered how she thought I was doing and was easy going when I needed help.

Half way done

Half way done

But the key is she let me do it and gave straightforward instructions on how to correct anything to make it look even better. I must admit the trees in the background and the brush in the foreground are my favourites as I do like abstract/Impressionist painting. I learned a lot from her tips on how to make the trees and what colours to blend to make things look better.

The event was held at Love That Barr in Pakenham; the nachos were tasty and they even made me a drink that made me feel special even though Lucy was at home waiting for a snack. If you have never been to Love That Barr on Hwy 29, I would suggest you go and try out some delicious food and experience the lovely atmosphere.

Janet is offering more classes in Carleton Place in August and September and another one in Pakenham soon and I will be there for sure. The cost is reasonable only $40 with all the supplies (food not included) and for returning painters its $35, what a great deal!

Painting is a passion and I am lucky enough to be able to enjoy the skill of a number of local painters and hope to do so again in the future.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Janet Beath
    Jul 23, 2015 @ 15:44:39

    What a wonderful blog, you make me sound really good! You truly have a passion for art Tiffany and it is infectious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

