Breastfeeding journey round two

If ‘I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me’ (Philippians 4:13 (NKJV)) then why can’t I successfully breastfeed my children?

In a recent discussion I was debating whether or not I should give my daughter vitamin D drops because if God made the human body and provides women with breast milk for their children then surely God made sure there was vitamin D in it. The response I got back stung more than I would like to admit ‘Then why hasn’t God given you enough milk to feed Lucy or John.’

I have done everything I possibly could to help me produce more milk: medicine, herbs, cookies, tea, pumping, prayers and more. But with both children I have been told by medical professionals that it is medically necessary for me to supplement my breast milk with formula. Both times I have felt defeated. The most important thing above all is the health and well being of my children. I have complied and I am still monitoring how much Lucy eats and at what time of day. I am feeding her and that’s what counts, she gets some breast milk and formula.

 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.” James 1:2-6

This is one of my favourite Bible verse, I know it so well but often refer to the text. I pray to God that I have an abundant supply of milk and I believe that he will answer my prayers. So why am I still facing this trail?

The next question one must ask in this situation is why is breastfeeding so important to a 21st century mom? We can now as in years gone by just pass the bottle on to someone else.

There is that bond, that special moment when you are breastfeeding your baby and you know you have made the milk just for her.

Sometimes I don’t understand this bond.

Maybe I am just too focused on getting every drop into her mouth.

There is also this push in today’s society that one must breastfeed their children. This is the only way to do it. It seems this unstated rule is an unnecessary pressure that is put on new moms. You often hear the term ‘mommy wars’ and many heated discussions rage on about the benefits of bottle feeding or breastfeeding.

Bottle versus breast is a long standing battle, one that many moms have debated over the years. Even in the 1950s when bottle feeding became so popular. I wonder what Betty Friedan would say now; have we really solved the problem that has no name or are we no better off than where we started in the 1950s. We can breast feed or bottle feed and still feel self worth or can we really do both? Is the problem with no name the pressure on how to raise and feed our children while being judged by others? Do we really have it all now?

Is breastfeeding really a sign of empowerment: Anytime, anywhere? Breast is best? Be connected with the baby?

Or is the most important thing feeding your baby no matter what and pouring down as much love on them as possible.

Leave a Reply

